Meet CSSA Student, Meagan Corbett

As an undergrad at Saint Rose, Meagan Corbett was a familiar face on campus. She served as the Director of Social Events for Student Association (planning events such as Rose Rock, Harvest Fest, and blood drives), the Senior Events chair for Student Events Board, was a Resident Assistant, and was an officer on the Golden Knights Dance Club. She graduated with her B.A. in Psychology (focusing on Clinical/Counseling and Industrial/Organizational Psychology), and is now back at Saint Rose for her Masters in College Student Services Administration.

What is your program and why did you choose it?

College Student Services Administration- I chose this program because I was very involved in many extracurricular activities during my Undergraduate Career, held various leadership positions such as a Resident Assistant and a board member for both Student Association and Student Events Board. These positions involved a wide variety of programming and working with other college students. These leadership experiences made me never want to leave that field!

What has Saint Rose done for you?

Saint Rose has helped me develop into a better leader and have given me many opportunities to utilize those skills I’ve learned here.

What are your ultimate career goals?

I would like to work at a College/University specifically in the fields of Student Affairs, Admissions, or Alumni Relations

Why did you choose to continue graduate studies at Saint Rose?

I chose to continue my studies at Saint Rose for the small class sizes and the sense of community we have here.

What is the best/your favorite part of campus?

My favorite part of campus would be the Campus Green. My favorite time of the year is the mid-end of the Spring semester and getting to see everyone out there on really nice days doing homework, playing Frisbee, etc.

Who has inspired/influenced you at Saint Rose?

Too many people! The faculty and staff are very positive here and have a drive to help us as students become successful. I’ve definitely looked to those working in Student Affairs now as inspiration to continue my education studying in College Student Services.

What is the most difficult thing about Grad school?

The late night classes are difficult for me. I would much rather get class and other things done in the morning if I can.

What advice can you give to prospective students wanting to come to grad school/Saint Rose?

Get involved! Just because we are Grad students does not mean we can’t enjoy the other opportunities/events/organizations Saint Rose has to offer.

Comment